Maple Spelt Kamut Hazelnut Carrot Cake

23Feb13

I’ve had a busy week with two yoga classes, two climbing sessions, and a fair bit of other activity, so today at the Digs we treated ourselves to some delicious eats!

image

Emu steak and poutine

For dinner we had emu steak from the market, with local potatoes, CSA carrots and daikon radish as the base of a poutine with mushroom gravy and market cheese curds. As both an appetizer and dessert we had carrot cake, also with CSA carrots and many other local ingredients. The inspiration for the carrot cake was the discovery of (on sale!) organic cream cheese from Organic Meadow. I had done a quick internet search for maple carrot cake but the first results were mostly about maple cream cheese frosting. Then I remembered the Maple Syrup Cookbook from which I adapted the following recipe.

 

Maple Spelt Kamut Hazelnut Carrot Cake Recipe

  • 4 eggs
image

A small piece of maple carrot cake

  • 1 cup maple syrup
  • 1 1/4 cups vegetable oil (I used sunflower
  • 1/2 cup yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup spelt flour
  • 1 cup kamut flour
  • 1 1/2 cups hazelnut meal
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • approx. 4 cups grated carrots

Scrape into a 9×13 pan or two pans that equal those dimensions. Bake for 35-40 minutes at 350 degrees. The recipe had specific instructions on mixing dry and wet separately, etc. but I don’t let those kinds of rules tie me down. I varied the recipe a bit. It called for light vegetable oil, sour cream instead of yogurt, whole-wheat and all-purpose flours, and finely ground almond, which I replaced with the dumpstered hazelnut meal we’ve had in the freezer for about a year. I also omitted lemon juice and orange zest (due to not being a fan of citrus-y baked goods), allspice (due to not having any) and raisins (not a fan and we don’t have any). The recipe also called for 2 cups of carrots, but that just didn’t seem like enough.

The icing was cream cheese and, surprise surprise, maple syrup, mixed together. Yum!

[Edited to add that the only good thing about not being able to fall asleep tonight was that I heard the strange dog-related sounds coming from the kitchen. Upon investigation Nala had gnawed off the top of one of the carrot cakes that I'd left on the counter when Dewi got cranky at bedtime. Silly dog. At least I got there before she ate the whole thing!]

2 Responses to “Maple Spelt Kamut Hazelnut Carrot Cake”

  1. Carrot cake for both an appetizer and dessert? I have got to start eating my meals that way!

  2. 2 Angela

    Smart dog! I’d be gobbling that up too.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

