tomatoes galore

19Aug12

Ladies and gentlemen, I am sore and tired, but feeling accomplished. 

Here’s what got done on Friday and Saturday!

Image

About 65 lbs of tomatoes skinned and chopped and poured into jars, according to the book I mentioned yesterday, Putting Food By. I was originally planning to make sauce and salsa but realized you can’t do much without a pressure canner so I kept it simple. However, I was really looking forward to doing something a bit more interesting than just putting tomatoes in a jar, so I took a look around Food In Jars and decided I couldn’t pass on Tomato Jam. I substituted the sugar for maple syrup of course, and it’s deliciously sweet and spicy at the same. But the recipe only made 3 pints, and we had a fridge full of produce so I decided to make a relish too! 

I didn’t even really count, but it was something like 7 cucumbers, 2 large zucchinis, 6 celery stalks, a green pepper, an onion, and a bulb of garlic, all thrown into the food processor and then into a pot. Then added mustard seed, maple syrup, salt, red pepper flakes and vinegar, and processed according to the easiest recipe I could find. I would have tried a different method but I was in a hurry to get to the bowling alley. It turned out fine though – I don’t even really like relish, but this stuff was quite tasty! 

Today’s plan was to get many things done, but instead I spent the afternoon in the kitchen sorting the spices. The spice rack is now in alphabetical order again, and rather than having several bags/containers of some spices, the secondary spice shelf is now much tidier as well. And then I used a bunch of those spices to make a very tasty curry with all of our garden’s green beans as the focal point. Delicious! 

One Response to “tomatoes galore”

  1. 1 Jeanette

    Wonderful ! Nikki and I have been cleaning and purging around the house and we have some canning jars we won’t use… we’ll get them to you so you can make use of them 🙂


Leave a Reply

